ArizonaShooting.com

"The #1 Resource for Shooters in Arizona!"
It is currently August 19th, 2017, 10:48 pm


All times are UTC - 7 hours


Custom Search





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: AR10 chokes with suppressor
New postPosted: May 18th, 2016, 3:48 pm 
Offline
AZS is my home
AZS is my home

Joined: May 28th, 2011, 9:02 am
Posts: 6334
Armalite AR10T 16". Gemtech TPR-S suppressor, Bi-Lock adapter.

Without suppressor, runs fine.

With suppressor, failures to eject ("smokestack") with next cartridge jammed hard into the half-ejected case. Also, with suppressor, primers are either flattened or blown out.

Two different brands of ammo: both OK without can, both problems with can.

Two different mags; both OK without can, both problems with can.

What's going on, do you think?

_________________
Guns don't kill people.
Gun-free zones kill people.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AR10 chokes with suppressor
New postPosted: May 18th, 2016, 4:12 pm 
Offline
AZS Regular
AZS Regular

Joined: May 22nd, 2005, 10:30 pm
Posts: 190
Location: Buckeye, AZ
Over gassed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AR10 chokes with suppressor
New postPosted: May 18th, 2016, 4:19 pm 
Offline
AZS is my home
AZS is my home
User avatar

Joined: August 17th, 2009, 8:34 pm
Posts: 3069
... SYRAC ORDNANCE adjustable gas block is what you seek


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AR10 chokes with suppressor
New postPosted: May 18th, 2016, 4:32 pm 
Offline
AZS is my home
AZS is my home

Joined: May 28th, 2011, 9:02 am
Posts: 6334
Syrac Ordnance adjustable gas block, or any other adjustable gas block?
The SO website doesn't have a model with a base for a flipup front sight. The Armalite website does. Are other brands not acceptable?

_________________
Guns don't kill people.
Gun-free zones kill people.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AR10 chokes with suppressor
New postPosted: May 18th, 2016, 4:38 pm 
Offline
AZS is my home
AZS is my home
User avatar

Joined: August 17th, 2009, 8:34 pm
Posts: 3069
milquetoast wrote:
Syrac Ordnance adjustable gas block, or any other adjustable gas block?
The SO website doesn't have a model with a base for a flipup front sight. The Armalite website does. Are other brands not acceptable?


... honestly, all I can say is that I went with Syrac Ordnance on my Armalite AR10T and it works great. Easy to install, maintenance free and distinctive adjustment clicks for pressure regulation


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AR10 chokes with suppressor
New postPosted: May 18th, 2016, 4:57 pm 
Offline
AZS; Woohoo!
AZS; Woohoo!
User avatar

Joined: February 1st, 2011, 10:06 am
Posts: 1003
Location: SE Valley
Syrac and SLR both are good, and click adjustments from the front. Some of the other adj. Blocks suck with the side locking screw and adjustments made from the rear of the block.

_________________
(\__/)
(='.'=) This is Bunny. Copy and paste Bunny into your
(")_(") signature to help him gain world domination


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AR10 chokes with suppressor
New postPosted: May 19th, 2016, 7:54 am 
Offline
AZS is my home
AZS is my home

Joined: May 28th, 2011, 9:02 am
Posts: 6334
OK, I ordered a J-P adjustable gas block, with Picatinny rail, from Brownell's. (Armalite did not have one -- they have one with a rail, and one that is adjustable, but not both.)

When it gets here, is it the kind of thing that any fool (in which category I include myself) with an Allen or Torx wrench can install, or does it require the services of a master gunsmith with a CNC machine and magic pixie dust?

_________________
Guns don't kill people.
Gun-free zones kill people.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AR10 chokes with suppressor
New postPosted: May 19th, 2016, 4:36 pm 
Offline
New to AZS

Joined: October 6th, 2015, 10:26 am
Posts: 78
if your old gas block is held on with sets screws it should be easy, gas blocks that are held with tapered pins can be tricky to drive out. Careful removing your flash hider, never try to loosen or tighten without having your barrel in vise jaws, you can damage your barrel by shearing the pin in the barrel extension. If you want to stop by the shop(Layke Tactical) I will help you out no charge, call and ask for Ron.

P.S. bring some ammo and we can test fire it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AR10 chokes with suppressor
New postPosted: May 19th, 2016, 4:59 pm 
Offline
AZS is my home
AZS is my home

Joined: May 28th, 2011, 9:02 am
Posts: 6334
rja wrote:
if your old gas block is held on with sets screws it should be easy, gas blocks that are held with tapered pins can be tricky to drive out. Careful removing your flash hider, never try to loosen or tighten without having your barrel in vise jaws, you can damage your barrel by shearing the pin in the barrel extension. If you want to stop by the shop(Layke Tactical) I will help you out no charge, call and ask for Ron.

P.S. bring some ammo and we can test fire it.

That is a very generous offer, and much appreciated.
Alas, you are located on the other side of the world, so I doubt I would ever get over there.
Because it has pins and a Gemtech Bi-Lock instead of a flash suppressor, and because I do not have a proper vise, I will probably take it to Derrick at Accuracy Speaks.
But thank you for the information, and your kindness.

_________________
Guns don't kill people.
Gun-free zones kill people.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AR10 chokes with suppressor
New postPosted: July 15th, 2016, 12:07 pm 
Offline
AZS is my home
AZS is my home

Joined: May 28th, 2011, 9:02 am
Posts: 6334
Update:

Had the adjustable gas block installed by Accuracy Speaks. Per the instructions, cranked it closed until the bolt would not cycle, then backed it out until it cycles and the empties land not far away.

Bad news: With the suppressor, still get flattened primers and occasionally a blown primer. Without the suppressor, much better, but primers still flattened, and occasionally backed out slightly.

I have ruled out ammo, because I get the same results with the "control," Federal American Eagle 150 FMJ.

So, whatever the problem is, the suppressor makes it worse, but the adjustable gas block does not cure.

Something else is going on. I will take the rifle to either Accuracy Speaks or Robar, to see if they can figure it out.

_________________
Guns don't kill people.
Gun-free zones kill people.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AR10 chokes with suppressor
New postPosted: July 15th, 2016, 12:25 pm 
Offline
AZS is my home
AZS is my home
User avatar

Joined: February 27th, 2009, 3:40 pm
Posts: 3000
Location: Work Tempe / Home Gilbert
If you put the flattened primer/nudged out primer cases back in the barrel, is it tight or sticks?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AR10 chokes with suppressor
New postPosted: August 25th, 2016, 2:09 pm 
Offline
AZS is my home
AZS is my home

Joined: May 28th, 2011, 9:02 am
Posts: 6334
electrohawk wrote:
If you put the flattened primer/nudged out primer cases back in the barrel, is it tight or sticks?

Sorry to take so long to reply. Wanted to do more testing, with many brands of ammo.

- Problem is constant with all six brands of ammo. Worse with suppressor, but still noticeable without, with gas block adjusted to Just Barely Cycling.

- Pronounced shiny spot/gouge on the case head, apparently from the ejector.

- The fired cases drop back into the chamber fairly easily, and come out fairly easily, so no tightness or sticking.

I need to go to Deer Valley in a couple of weeks, so I will drop it off at Robar on the way.

_________________
Guns don't kill people.
Gun-free zones kill people.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AR10 chokes with suppressor
New postPosted: August 25th, 2016, 7:20 pm 
Offline
AZS Regular
AZS Regular

Joined: July 1st, 2014, 1:58 am
Posts: 280
My 308 ar likes to pop primers on my hotter matxh loads suppressed. For a while I thought the pressure signs but shooting it unsupressed it's fine so i just dont worry about it. Just annoying


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AR10 chokes with suppressor
New postPosted: September 29th, 2016, 8:11 pm 
Offline
New to AZS

Joined: October 6th, 2015, 10:26 am
Posts: 78
Have you had the head space checked? If it's marking the base of the shell and popping primers it sounds like excessive head space to me. .308 head spacing is all over the place, even barrels from the same manufacture. I kind of surprised that they did not make sure the gun was functioning properly after the changed the gas block. If you bring it by Layke we can check the head space with go no go gauge. Also have a selection of bolts we could experiment with.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: AR10 chokes with suppressor
New postPosted: September 30th, 2016, 12:47 am 
Offline
AZS Addict
AZS Addict
User avatar

Joined: December 24th, 2010, 5:37 pm
Posts: 754
Reading all the updates to this thread, headspace sounds like the culprit as well. I have had several ar10 NM's and armalites QC even on their top bin guns were suspect. Good luck.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group